When All else fails…..

Image

I often worry too much about trivial things, like bills, retirement, whether the toilet paper roll goes over or under, you get the drift.. but when I am at my most happy is when I’m teaching my son how life goes. He was trying his hardest to cast his line into the pond out behind our place and almost everytime he tried he failed to either get it far enough into the water or it fail harmlessly to the ground. With a little practice I told him you’ll be able to toss it all the away across the pond to the other side with just a flick of your wrist. His look of utter disbelief probably was the reason I helped him with the cast.. he tried again and again, again, again,….( how many do I need here).. finally after about the 23rd cast ( I counted), he finally figured it out. The sheer excitement and joy that came across his face is priceless. I’ll never forget it the rest of my days..

I won’t forget the day he catches his first fish either.. he keeps asking me when that is going to happen.. and I try to explain that its a true science to catch the ever elusive fish.. he ( or she, I have no idea how to tell them apart) sees you tossing the line with the lure or bait into the pond over and over and over again, he nibbles a bit to see if it tastes like chicken and then eventually figures out it’s food and he should eat it and BOOM you got yourself a bite. I want that day to be just as joyous as the successful casts. I want everyday to be an enlightenment for him. To discover new things, to learn new ideas, to never be judgmental of any living thing on the planet. 

To fish is to be patient.. use that patience in life and you will go far

 

Tagged ,

Leave a comment

Life with 3 Kids

writing about daily life, motherhood and home projects

Create-a-holic Writer

Passionate about crafting, creative writing, and sharing knowledge.

celluloid blonde

the sometimes suspect musings of max adams

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

ANEESA MIRZA

22 years old| MA Creative Writing and Publishing student at City University| Tweet me: www.twitter.com/mirza_aneesa | Email: aneesa_x@hotmail.com

The Tragic Life of Frank

Around five minutes ago I had this sudden revelation; that my life is quite sufficiently, tragic.

Foxy Wine Pocket

Me, uncensored.

Anita Rodgers Mystery Writer

The Writing Life, Books, and Things That Make Me Go, "Ah"

Damien Walter

"The universe is made of stories, not atoms."

Critical Dispatches

Reports from my somewhat unusual life

Life in the Boomer Lane

Musings of a former hula hoop champion

MikeCanRant

Some Stuff

Glory Bound Tattoo

Lees Summit, MO

The Sports Dish

An Outside the box Opinion on Sports